2 Amy’s – Cleveland Park

5 12 2010

“You better cut the pizza into four pieces, because I’m not hungry enough to eat six” – Yogi Berra

2 Amy's Exterior
Where are the crime fighting turtles?

One of the restaurants that kept popping up on the Chowhound DC/Baltimore board was 2 Amy’s. A lot of people consider it a must eat destination in DC and the unofficial title holder of “Best Pizza”. Despite all the buzz surrounding 2 Amy’s, I wasn’t really drawn to it until my friend Gchat raved on and on about the food and insisted that we go. One Friday evening I boarded the Metro and rendezvoused with two friends Spikes and Gchat who had just got off from work and off we went to the mecca of pizza. In big letters on 2 Amy’s window is “Denominazione di Origine Controllata”, which means that the pizza they serve abides by strict regulations set in Italy for what proper Neopolitan Pizza should be. They have a section of their website dedicated to D.O.C. pizza, and after reading this I realize just how seriously Italians take their pizza.

Suppli

Eat your heart out Mozzarella Sticks

The interior of 2 Amy’s is that of the classic pizzeria: a lot of tile, a lot of black and white, and a lot of hungry people. Despite it being around Six O’Clock we didn’t have any problem getting a table right away (Gchat did tell me a horror story about an hour long wait though). We each ordered a beer to properly begin our meal. I went with Old Speckled Hen, an English Pale Ale thought I thought would go pretty well with pizza (Spikes and Gchat went with Hefeweizens). One thing that we saw a lot of people at nearby tables eating were these round fried balls, I initially misclassified them as arancini, but they were actually suppli a telefono. The suppli were perfectly fried and once you broke through the outer shell, the creaminess of the rice and the mozzarella together was fantastic.

Crusts

This is what I dreamt about that night.

We ordered two pizzas to share between the three of us and combined with the suppli, it was definitely enough food. I don’t know if it’s the whole D.O.C. pizza thing, but this felt like simply the purest or cleanest pizza I’ve ever eaten. The first pizza we ordered was the Margherita (at the suggestion of Gchat). The pizza was superb but the crust and the buffala mozzarella stood head and shoulders above everything else in the pie. The quality of ingredients to make the dough combine with the wood oven used to cook the pie to create simply the best crust I’ve ever eaten. While I was eating my slices I wondered to myself why I never ate the crusts as a kid. I just never had crusts like these, never. The mozzarella was perfectly melted and just exploded, filling your mouth with an intense creaminess and salty undertones with each bite. If the crust is the foundation, the cheese the bricks, then the sauce is the mortar of the pizza. It did a great job of bringing the pie together creating this necessary counterpart to the buffala mozzarella.

Norcia
Try getting a reservation at Norcia now….

The second pie that we ordered was the Norcia, which had salami, grilled peppers, fresh mozzarella (Yes, there is a difference between fresh mozzarella and buffala mozzarella), and grana (similar to paremseano reggiano). I personally enjoyed this pizza a bit more than the Margherita. It’s more substantial and I’ve always been a big fan of peppers on pizza. The salami on the Norcia was definitely high quality and made the pizza in my opinion. The big slices of delicious, salty salami just seemed to cover the entire pie and perfectly complimented the salty fresh mozzarella. Grilled peppers by themselves are fairly bland, but when added to other things seem to elevate them. I don’t know how this works, but it does.

I really enjoyed my meal at 2 Amy’s. They took a simple concept (pizza) and DID IT RIGHT. Simple might be the definitive word for Amy’s. The decor, the menu, and the food was all simple. But it was all done properly and was put together well to create a fantastic place. I really took notice of the quality of ingredients, everything on the Norcia could be on a great antipasto platter. While the price hints at the quality of ingredients used, they don’t use it as justification to gouge you and I for one appreciate that. 2 Amy’s is a lot like Ray’s Hellburger, you will leave here extremely satisfied.

2 Amy’s Website

View Larger Map

Note: The images used in this review are not my own. Clicking on them will take you to the original website.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

